In Clark County, Nevada, the legal age for working at a business that sells tobacco products is 16 years old. This is in accordance with the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 609.185, which prohibits employing or allowing a child under 16 years of age to work in certain occupations. The NRS 609.190 also states that the Labor Commissioner has the authority to decide which jobs are hazardous or harmful to children under 16 years of age. Furthermore, NRS 609.221 forbids employing children under 16 years of age in certain sales activities. The NRS 609.240 sets the maximum hours of employment for minors under 16 years of age.
According to this statute, children under 14 years of age are not allowed to work during school hours, with some exceptions. Additionally, NRS 609.250 states that any product, good or service from a county whose population is less than 100,000 inhabitants cannot be sold by a child under 16 years of age. Moreover, anyone who sells cigarettes or other tobacco products (OTPs) to end consumers must obtain a Nevada tobacco retailer's license according to NRS 609.400 and NRS 609.650. Manufacturers are also required to obtain a manufacturer's license from the Department before selling cigarettes or roll-your-own (RYO) tobacco to wholesale distributors in Nevada. Tobacco use is a serious health issue in Nevada, with more than 1 in 5 (21.4%) high school students reporting they have used tobacco products, including electronic vaping products, cigarettes, cigars, or chewing products. This habit can lead to serious health problems and even death, as it causes more than 480,000 deaths as a result of smoking or exposure to second-hand smoke.